About IHMM

IHMM Board of Directors

IHMM Directors and Officers are volunteers who serve without pay. They may serve up to two, four-year terms. Directors are responsible for the governance of IHMM, including establishing overall direction of IHMM, appointment of executive personnel, policy-making, and financial management.


Lorenz R. (Richie) Spangler, CHMM, CDGP
Mr. Spangler is Team Lead Radiological Security at Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, New Mexico.  He was elected as a Director in 2015. Richie's bio is here.





William M. Diesslin, CHMM
Vice Chair
Mr. Diesslin is Associate Director of the Iowa State University Department of Environmental Health and Safety in Ames, Iowa.  He was elected as a Director in 2017. Bill's bio is here.
Andrea Schuessler, CHMM
Mrs. Schuessler is the Senior Manager; Safety, Health & Environment at AstraZeneca’s Biologics Manufacturing Center in Frederick, Maryland. She was elected as a Director in 2018. Andrea's bio is here.

June Brock-Carroll, CHMP
Mrs. Brock-Carroll is the Research Safety Hazardous Materials Manager at Clemson University in South Carolina. She was elected as a Director in 2018. June's bio is here.



  Mark T. Baumgardner, CHMM
Mr. Baumgardner is the principal of Mark Baumgardner Management Consulting LLC in Akron, Ohio. He was elected as a Director in 2015.  
Melissa A. Hamer-Baliey, CHMM
Ms. Hamer-Bailey is at attorney at the firm Norris Choplin Schroeder LLP in Indianapolis, Indiana concentrating on environmental law. She was elected as a Director in 2020. Melissa's bio is here.
Christopher Bryant, Public Member 
Mr. Bryant is Senior Regulatory Consultant at Bergeson & Campbell, PC in Washington, D.C.  He was elected as a Director in 2017. Chris' bio is here.
  Denny L. Carlson, CHMM
Mr. Carlson is an Engineer with AMI Environmental & Engineering, Inc.  He was elected as a Director in 2014. 
Jan G. Rosenberg, CSHM
Mr. Rosenberg is a consultant and former Deputy Administrator of the State of Nevada's Division of Industrial Relations with a focus on OSHA enforcement and compliance. He came on the Board in 2019. Jan's bio is here.
Sarath Seneviratne, CHMM 
Mr. Seneviratne is Branch Chief, OM/FSIS/USDA in Beltsville, Maryland. He was elected as a Director in 2018. Sarath's bio is here.
  Robin K. Spencer, CHMM
Ms. Spencer is Principal of Spencer Environmental in San Francisco Bay area.  She was elected as a Director in 2016. 
  Pinkie Wood, CSHM 
Ms. Wood is Corporate Safety Director at TST Roofing and runs her own consulting firm, Wood Safety Consultants, Inc., specializing in construction safety . She came on the Board in 2019.




























Immediate Past Chair

Robert A. West, CHMM
Mr. West is President of R.A. West Associates, Inc. in Newtown, Pennsylvania.  He was elected as a Director in 2015. Bob's bio is here.






IHMM Director nomination and election processes are governed by IHMM's Bylaws and IHMM's Nominating and Election Process.